LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 6:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 166 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next
 Post subject: The GWTFFM
PostPosted: August 3, 2015, 6:02 pm 

I've been working on-and-off on this for the past 7 years, mostly in CAD, with around 4 models "nearly finalized" before they were scrapped and restarted.

It's going to be a mid engine street legal car powered by a dry-sump S5 NA 13B mated to the 6 speed from a SE-R Spec V, with functional gull-wing doors (with moonroof panels), and maybe AWS if I can get it worked out properly.

Target weight is under 1500# with me in the seat (so really under 1355#...), and target dimensions are "Kei Car", on par with an AZ-1 or Cappuccino.

I have a full "build log" of all my fits and spurts with the CAD, the procurement of parts/engine/trans, and the rest on another forum, so I'm probably not going to retype everything here.

As of now, I have the engine rebuilt, the trans gearing changed out, and I'm 2/3 through designing the adapter plate. The dry sump is also coming along rather nicely.

I do have some early partial frame renders, from a model that's in "cold storage" right now.

Strong design cues from the DMC-12 and the AZ-1, more from the DMC though.

I have Miata front spindles for the front, and likely will use Nissan Maxima/Altima/Sentra front spindles in the rear.

Suspension is the sticking point, I can't start designing that when I don't have full powerplant dimensions, due to my ludicrously small track width requirements.

Sorry for the incoherent mass of text, like I said, I'm trying to distill 5 years of existing build log and 7 years total project time into one post.
If anyone wants, I'll link to the other thread if cross-site is allowed.
EDIT: Link to the build log

06 325xi
Some people never have anything except ideas. Go do it.