LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 4:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: November 23, 2016, 12:12 pm 

I hope this is the right section to ask these questions...
But I have a 2010 4dr hatchback (liftback) Yaris.
I paid 17k for it, and it's worth 2.5k now. I don't think I want to let it go that easily.

For a long time, I've tossed around the idea of making it a project car. I've seen the SHOGun car car, and I've thought about doing something similar.
Maybe use the cradle from a Fiero and go 3800SC or something. Something cheap, but strong, and cheap to mod.

My brother is a welder by trade. I can do the rest. What I don't know, is how you center the engine into the car? What are the measuring points?

I know people who do this on Festivas use an engine bay from the SHO - but still don't know how they center it properly.

Also how do you decide where to put your strut tower (assuming I'll have to move mine). Do you just compress the springs to the weight of the car, and then sort of eye ball the height there?

I was likely going to build a roll cage into it (and since it's a unibody) and mount the cradle to that... or I'm thinking...
So basically allowing my Yaris shell to exist around one of these middy cars you're building here.

PostPosted: November 23, 2016, 12:51 pm 

Cut everything out from under the shell.
drop shell onto properly designed roller skate.
fab sheet metal floor and fender wells

OOPS I did it again
http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=17496

Blood Sweat and Beers
http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=15216

PostPosted: November 23, 2016, 4:34 pm 

TooBusy wrote:
Cut everything out from under the shell.
drop shell onto properly designed roller skate.
fab sheet metal floor and fender wells

So basically... build a chassis for it.