LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently July 27, 2017, 4:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 6, 2017, 11:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 2, 2009, 3:34 pm
Posts: 544
Location: Alberta
I'm getting to the point where I need to decided on gauge style, placement, and gauge type. I was originally thinking about getting a all-in-one type from Speed Hut, similar to that shown below:

http://www.speedhut.com/customizer.i?clid=6379619

It includes the basic gauges, required indicator lights, isn't cluttered, can customize the color, etc., pretty nice unit. The only thing I don't like is the price, at $665.00 USD, by the time its converted, shipping, taxes, I'd be looking at around $940.00 Cdn for the unit. Seems like alot of cash for gauges.

Looking at alternative options, I came across this unit:
Image

While likely not as tasteful to some, it has the same functionality as the above unit (better in some cases as the redline can be set, convert to km/h, etc.), and to the door would be around $460.00 Cdn. Still not exactly locost, but keeping an additional $480.00 in my pocket is not insignificant.

Being the wiring novice that I am though, anyone have any thoughts on how difficult this would be to hook up to a 1992 5.0/T5 combo? I'd also love to hear the thoughts of those that have gone before. Is having a volt/pressure/temperature gauge terrible important as opposed to a dummy light, would it be terribly ugly and kill the look of the car, etc.

_________________
Trochu Motor League


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 6, 2017, 12:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 26, 2008, 6:06 pm
Posts: 2826
Location: Under the weather. (Seattle)
I recall some previous discussion about the Trail Tech Vapor (with optional indicator light dashboard) as a cheap way to get some basic all-in-one gauge functionality. I don't recall much of the details on how well (or not) it might work in a four wheeled application, but it might be worth looking into.

_________________
-Justin

Also follow my build on blogspot, tumblr, or instagram and twitter (GarageOdyssey)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 6, 2017, 1:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 27, 2005, 1:04 am
Posts: 1197
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada
I tried the Trailtech Vapour on my car. It wouldn't display rpm properly from my V6, so unless you wrap the sense wire around a sparkplug wire, it won't work for a V8 either. I tried that with my car, but I've got an MSD ignition, and that didn't work either. I used a different Koso all in one gauge in my car, it's all digital and cost about $250. If I were doing it again, I'd probably pony up the money for real gauges though.
Attachment:
$_1.JPG
$_1.JPG [ 15.16 KiB | Viewed 384 times ]

Kristian

_________________
V6 in a book frame build. Now registered.
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=7587


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 6, 2017, 3:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 19, 2012, 9:25 pm
Posts: 2575
Location: Summerville, SC
I had mixed results with the Trail Tech. Worked ok, but not great on a 4 banger. I don't think it'll read correctly for an 8. Same problem with the bike readouts, I don't think you'll be able to get an accurate tach reading, as they are expecting 1, 2, or 4 cylinder coil outputs. It may be doable with the wasted spark setting or by wrapping the signal wire around a plug wire.

I've never been able to get one to read on a coil on plug engine.

Does the donor have OBDII? If it does do a youtube search on Torque app and Android tablet dash.

_________________
Too much week, not enough weekend.

OOPS I did it again
http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=17496

Blood Sweat and Beers
http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=15216


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 7, 2017, 11:30 am 
Offline

Joined: September 19, 2009, 12:33 pm
Posts: 360
Trochu wrote:
While likely not as tasteful to some, it has the same functionality as the above unit (better in some cases as the redline can be set, convert to km/h, etc.), and to the door would be around $460.00 Cdn. Still not exactly locost, but keeping an additional $480.00 in my pocket is not insignificant.


Koso RX-1N. I ran one on an '80s Nighthawk for several years, it did the job well. Monitors oil temp and coolant temp, odometer, trip odometer, everything's there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tccpXQCUaCE

I bought mine from Amazon for under $300 USD, not sure what shipping and conversion rate would do to you in Canada.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 7, 2017, 10:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 8, 2010, 8:02 pm
Posts: 447
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
I'm running an Acewell with success so far.
Think mine is the same as this, but w/o the lamps on the sides.

http://www.s3performance.com.au/acewell ... t/ACE-3969

_________________
Build log: viewtopic.php?t=9291


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 8, 2017, 12:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 2, 2009, 3:34 pm
Posts: 544
Location: Alberta
Thanks for the info guys.

I sent Koso an e-mail inquiring if there would be any issues. Curious to see if they reply.

What don't you like about the electronic gauge Kristian?

_________________
Trochu Motor League


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 8, 2017, 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: April 12, 2013, 9:17 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Bend Oregon
The Koso RX2N has worked great for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 8, 2017, 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 2, 2009, 3:34 pm
Posts: 544
Location: Alberta
mtntech wrote:
The Koso RX2N has worked great for me.


What kind of powertrain do you have?

_________________
Trochu Motor League


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 8, 2017, 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 6, 2009, 11:50 pm
Posts: 140
RX2N works great for me too. Powertrain is a Honda H22 4 cyl and i have full functionality for almost everything. The only features I'm not using are the second temp sensor and the neutral indicator light. I chose this model because the tach comes in two different ranges, 10k rpm, or 16k rpm and the lower range seemed more appropriate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 8, 2017, 9:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 27, 2005, 1:04 am
Posts: 1197
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada
Trochu wrote:
Thanks for the info guys.

I sent Koso an e-mail inquiring if there would be any issues. Curious to see if they reply.

What don't you like about the electronic gauge Kristian?

It's not as easy to see at a glance whats what, and you have to scroll through to see some of the stuff. Plus I'm a bit old school, it just doesn't look right to me, at least not compared to a set of traditional gauges. The one I bought is pretty easy to see though, and it's waterproof enough that I don't worry about getting it wet when I'm hosing down the car.
Kristian

_________________
V6 in a book frame build. Now registered.
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=7587


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 9, 2017, 2:33 am 
Offline

Joined: April 12, 2013, 9:17 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Bend Oregon
Trochu wrote:
mtntech wrote:
The Koso RX2N has worked great for me.


What kind of powertrain do you have?


A Honda K20 coupled to a S2000 6 speed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 10, 2017, 11:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 2, 2009, 3:34 pm
Posts: 544
Location: Alberta
From the manufacturer:

"The Rx-1N and most of our gauges are designed for motorcycle systems, but that doesn’t mean they can’t fit on cars. There is no way for me to tell 100% that it will work, but it is definitely possible. As long as you can get a signal for the Tach from either the pickup coil, ignition coil or injector (if it is FI)."

Sounds like it should work, might take some tinkering though.

_________________
Trochu Motor League


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 10, 2017, 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 12, 2013, 9:17 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Bend Oregon
They are great gauges that are very "adjustable" when it comes to input signals. Take it from a fellow Canadian.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: All In One Gauges
PostPosted: July 14, 2017, 10:18 am 
Offline

Joined: April 12, 2013, 9:17 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Bend Oregon
Pic of mine.


Attachments:
000_0017.JPG
000_0017.JPG [ 258.67 KiB | Viewed 111 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
POWERED_BY