LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 9:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: September 19, 2016, 10:03 am 

I have a two master cylinder brake setup using a bias bar. But I am still getting to much rear braking even with the bias bar set to full front. I am getting more brake dust on the rear wheels then the front, plus under heavy braking the back end is very loose, floating around. So I need to play with the master cylinder sizes to get less pressure going to the rear brakes. So this is the question: To reduce the brake pressure to the rear brakes I make the rear master cylinder LARGER?

Thanks

Graham

PostPosted: September 19, 2016, 10:08 am 

Yep.
making it larger reduces the force per unit area in the master, which in turn reduces the pressure in the wheel cylinder.

PostPosted: September 19, 2016, 10:18 am 
Mid-Engined Maniac

Yes, larger. The key to understanding what's going on is to always think: force = brake pressure * area. For the same pedal pressure, a larger master cylinder increases the area, decreasing total force.
[edit] Sigh, I goofed, fixed. Thanks Driven5.

Last edited by KB58 on September 19, 2016, 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: September 19, 2016, 11:29 am 

KB58 wrote:
force = brake pressure * area
FTFY

The way I look at it though is pressure = force / area. This is because the pressure will always be the same on both ends of the braking system. So what you get is:

master cylinder force / master cylinder area = caliper piston force / caliper piston area

So if you hold any two constant, it makes it easier to understand what raising the 3rd will do to the 4th as variables. Making the variables both on top or both on bottom will have a direct relationship, while having one variable on top and the other on bottom will have an inverse relationship.

"Orville Wright did not have a pilots license." - Gordon MacKenzie