LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 3, 2024, 9:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: October 24, 2008, 4:40 pm 

Hello everybody,
I am new hear and am asking the question that everybody else is, but I am hoping that you guys can help answer this question for me.

I currently have a 9 second dodge colt that I build from the ground up. But I have found it is not enough speed for me and in the process of going fast I have lost a lot of the streetability of the car. Not to mention I want to go fast around turns also.

I stumbled across the caterham/ locost (low-cost) stuff last year and it sparked some interest. Then I read the review of the 500 superlight in the Top Gear magazine a few months ago. To say the least I am floored.

I have been racing 800+ hp mitsubishi 4 cylinders for six or seven years now and recently found a transmission bell housing combination to make a great RWD set-up.

Winter is about to set in and I need something to do, or build.

Can the locost frame handle 400-500hp, can it handle the extra weight of a cast iron block and manifold/turbo set-up.

I am sure you get questions like this all the time, and probably never hear from the individual again. I am very single minded and once I decide to build something it will get done.

I throw in a few shots of my recent project to assure you I am up for the task.

This was last winters project, I bought it in November 07 and raced in may 08.

So I really don't know what I am asking, but do you guys that have done this project think this might be right for me?

I know if I decide o do this I have a lot of learning/reading ahead of me.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Craig Miller

Post subject:
PostPosted: October 24, 2008, 5:17 pm