LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently December 13, 2017, 11:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 263 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18
Author Message
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 11:36 am 
Online

Joined: February 8, 2014, 10:47 pm
Posts: 436
Location: Cornholio OR "Where the magic happens"
Or popped a GFI outlet?

_________________
Feels like I'm on the last train,
rolling on cracked wheels,
and Hillary is the engineer!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 6, 2008, 11:15 am
Posts: 1047
Location: Cave Creek, AZ
That could be also. Tripped GFCI Outlets are reset at the outlet. Tripped circuit breakers can only be reset one way and one way only. A common misconception is that you just flip it back to the ON position. It MUST be flipped all the way off first, then back on. It won't reset if you try and go from the tripped position to ON.


And just in case it is a tripped GFCI outlet, make sure that you don't put garage fridges or beer coolers on the LOAD side of a GFCI protected circuit, or you will come home to warm beer and spoiled food. Been there done that, threw away a lot of food. I now run multiple circuits to my work spaces and if there is going to be a fridge, that circuit home runs to that outlet (a fourplex) where the GFCI takes up one of the spots and a regular outlet takes up the other space. The regular outlet (the one for the fridge) is wired to the LINE side of the GFCI (feed side) and the rest of the outlets on that circuit are wired to the LOAD (protected) side of the GFCI. Most fridges come with a flat plug that if plugged into the top receptacle, will block you from putting anything in the bottom hole.

Tom

_________________
Sometimes, I'm as confused as a baby in a topless bar.

My short term memory is absolutely horrible and so is my short term memory.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sG16m2e4O6I


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 14, 2016, 4:16 am
Posts: 101
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
I thought of that too, but no GFCI outlets in the garage either.

Unless I can convince the owners to let me add a little juice, I may have to come up with an alternate plan on welding this chassis.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 26, 2008, 6:06 pm
Posts: 2872
Location: Under the weather. (Seattle)
As far as I'm aware, even a 120V @ 15A circuit should be able to reasonably support welding .065 steel without tripping the breaker.

_________________
-Justin

Also follow my build on blogspot, tumblr, or instagram and twitter (GarageOdyssey)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 6, 2008, 11:15 am
Posts: 1047
Location: Cave Creek, AZ
Dudefladge wrote:
I thought of that too, but no GFCI outlets in the garage either.

Unless I can convince the owners to let me add a little juice, I may have to come up with an alternate plan on welding this chassis.



I PM'd you an easy solution. Works like a charm.

Tom

_________________
Sometimes, I'm as confused as a baby in a topless bar.

My short term memory is absolutely horrible and so is my short term memory.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sG16m2e4O6I


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: September 6, 2017, 8:38 pm 
Online

Joined: February 8, 2014, 10:47 pm
Posts: 436
Location: Cornholio OR "Where the magic happens"
If you have room in the panel for an extra breaker you can put an extra temporary line in for a 20A outlet for the welder.

Or you can make an extension cord to run off the dryer outlet for 220V.

I'd suggest not consulting the owners they might tell you they don't want you welding in the garage.

Better to ask for forgiveness later.....

And have a couple of large extinguishers you can point at, if the welding raise eyebrows.

_________________
Feels like I'm on the last train,
rolling on cracked wheels,
and Hillary is the engineer!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: October 10, 2017, 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 14, 2016, 4:16 am
Posts: 101
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Here is a very cool plaque Howard has hanging in his shop. Both of his Streamliners are featured on it. Very cool history!

Thanks again Howard!

373 and 299 MPH are the two that Howard built.


Attachments:
IMG_1816.JPG
IMG_1816.JPG [ 670.81 KiB | Viewed 198 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: October 12, 2017, 10:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 24, 2008, 2:13 pm
Posts: 3190
Location: Carlsbad, California, USA
:thmbsup: Thanks for posting.

Cheers,

_________________
Damn! That front slip angle is way too large and the Ackerman is just a muddle.

Build Log: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=5886


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 263 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
POWERED_BY