LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 1:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: July 31, 2016, 3:07 pm 

Hello Group -

A little background....

I am a A&P IA aircraft mechanic by trade... The Diva belongs to my good friend Duncan...

Duncan bought the Diva kit around 2000 and started the assembly... Built a small block Chevy... Put some of the frame together... Collected some parts... You know, little things... Around 2003-04 he got involved in buying a small model company that makes scale buildings, people and animals for model railroad dioramas... Getting that company relocated to his "barn" put the Diva on hold for a little while... And then the worst happened, his wife was diagnosed with brain cancer and died in 2005... I have known Duncan and his wife since 1990 and it was devastating to him... Life got put on hold for a long time after that and the Diva was shoved to the side and buried, literally....

Duncan turned 70 seven years Ago... He decided then that it was time to get unfinished projects and bucket list items done... One of those projects was getting his Stinson 108-2 airplane back in the air... Did I mention that I work on airplanes.. :-) .. After a 5 year screw up with import requirements (the airplane was registered in Canada) We finally got the Stinson a much deserved engine conversion and back to flying status... One night I was at his house with my kid getting some math tutoring and listening to stories (Duncan is a retired electrical engineer, math wiz, holds over 40 patents... Just a fascinating man but a story for another time) I was able to talk him into showing me his Diva project that has now sat for over 15 years... After looking at the car I offered him my help to get the car on the road just for the opportunity to drive it once.. Well, he made an offer I could not refuse... Part ownership for my work.. Cant beat that..

So now some pictures...