LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 5:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: April 9, 2017, 12:37 pm 

Hey everyone,

I'm gearing up to get my build going and thought I may as well start a build thread now, so I can explain my plans and get some feedback.

A little background about me: I have always loved cars and mechanical things in general, and as a Mechanical Engineering Technologist I design machines for a living. Last year I bought a Mazda RX8 with a blown motor to play around with. I figured I could cross three things off the bucket list; owning a rotary engine, rebuilding an engine with my own two hands, and having a fun car on the side that I could toss around at autocross without too much concern. Then I got absolutely hooked on autocross.

My plan now is to build something that can still be registered for the road, but will spend 90-95% of its time on the track. In addition to autox, they are building a new raceway nearby and I definitely want in on that action!

To fund the project, I am selling my summer daily driver, a mint 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS. The money I get from this car has to pay for the locost, and my winter vehicle has to be able to tow it. The car is tentatively sold and as soon as it gets picked up in May, I will start ordering parts and making a mess in the garage. ;)