LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 3:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: MG J Type replica
PostPosted: January 30, 2017, 3:31 pm 

Hello,

I am a first time builder and am in the very beginning of thinking about planning to build an MG J Type Midget. These were the first of the classic “slab tank” MGs from the early ‘30s. They were built on a straight ladder frame, had a solid front and rear axle, drum brakes, semi elliptical springs front and rear, and a slab sided body.

I do have, I think, above average mechanical knowledge and skills. These include: basic automotive repair, rudimentary sheet metal skills, intermediate level welding skills (stick, MIG, and oxy acetylene), and aluminum and bronze casting. Having said that I realize this project will probably take much longer and cost much more than I plan/budget for and require skills I don’t yet possess.

Some of my initial thoughts for donor parts are:

- MGB for the front hubs and rear axle. The originals had 19 inch wire wheels and I “think” I can use MGB wire wheel hubs and motorcycle rims.

- The J Type has a 42 inch track so I will need to narrow the rear end, the B rear end has straight axle housings and so would make narrowing easier than say a modern Midget rear end.

- As I want to retain the original look as much as possible I do not want to use the B front suspension and steering rack. I will probably borrow heavily from the “T” bucket concept and use a narrowed, commercially available, front axle.