LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 18, 2024, 11:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Colorado and Emissions
PostPosted: April 8, 2009, 6:58 pm 

So I've been dealing with the DMV trying to get all the info needed to register a home made vehicle and the one thing I can't get a clear answer on is emissions. The people at the DMV claim a kit car is subject to the same emission laws any other car is, and the year it's registered is the 'year of manufacture'. However, I've seen laws signed into place in 06 that say a Kit Car (any home made vehicle) is completely exempt from emissions testing.

Does anyone have any experience with this? I know there's a few CO locosters here.

PostPosted: April 8, 2009, 8:09 pm 

I have no experience with Colorado, or any other state for that matter. I did some search and found..... it depends. You register a homebuilt as the year you built it. but there is a form, DR 2365, used to instruct the emissions tester to test based on the year of the engine. Cars over 25 years old are exempt. So I would think that if you are building with an old engine, you would be expemt.

This is where I found this info:

http://www.aircarecolorado.com/repair/acnews/apr00.htm

This is from the year 2000. the newer law you refer to applies to Kit Cars. I do not know if the home-built is the same as a kiit car.

“Any suspension will work if you don’t let it.” - Colin Chapman

Visit my ongoing MGB Rustoration log: over HERE

Or my Wankel powered Locost log : over HERE

And don't forget my Cushman Truckster resto Locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=17766

PostPosted: April 10, 2009, 1:21 pm 

rx7locost wrote:
This is from the year 2000. the newer law you refer to applies to Kit Cars. I do not know if the home-built is the same as a kiit car.