LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 29, 2024, 1:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: November 11, 2018, 5:57 pm 

Hey guys.

So my Emod Seven has seen five or six autoX events now. I'm still learning to drive it, but I'm fairly certain it could use some swaybars and other improvements to handling. Thing is I do not have enough experience chassis tuning to say what it needs, and my inconsistent driving/lines make it tough to sort things out. Also due to some health problems, my head is too fuzzy to focus well. I'm trying to figure out what the next step is, but I am struggling. So I am just going to spout some things out and hope for some help from you Gents.

Car is:

-SLA front, live axle 3link+panhard rear.
-1850lbs w/driver and fuel
-~50/50 weight bias
-no sway bars, fairly soft sprung (spring rate does feel about right).
-205/50r15 Rcomp tires
-250hp/lbsft (large displacement/weight engine which creates a LOT of engine braking)
-increased F shock stiffness to max, R to min = better

So there seems to be oversteer from the back. I would say most notable at mid corner. Only at higher loads and does not occur during wet events. Possible jacking effect? On throttle the car is very stable, even if oversteering I can just let go of steering wheel and stomp throttle to get settled. Engine braking/ lift off oversteer is very noticeable in this car. This is always going to be a thing in this car. I'm learning to be much smoother coming off throttle in corners. Car will understeer at times, but I don't know what conditions. I would guess I need some more camber up front to maximize grip. I have had a more skilled driver do a few runs in it and he felt the same dynamics so it's not just my driving.