LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 19, 2024, 5:54 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: How do I turbo?
PostPosted: August 17, 2014, 10:23 pm 

Hey all, I'm new to the whole world of forced-induction, and as I am running a 4G63T in my Locost, I should probably get to learning. I know the basics of how they work, but what I am more unsure about is modifications, and what is actually helpful. So I'm gonna start off asking about two things: External waste gates and blow-off valves.

I am running a stock motor and stock (maybe ported) 14b turbo, and mild tuning software with a wide-band and a manual boost controller.

I got a real Greddy blow-off valve thrown in with a deal when I bought my wiring harness and the boost controller. What purpose does a good BOV have besides the noise?

Also, is it worth it to invest in an external waste gate? The 14b has one built in that is supposed to be pretty good but I don't really know how an external one helps.

Thanks as always for the help!

"Stuckness shouldn't be avoided. It's the psychic predecessor of all real understanding." --Robert Pirsig

Grey 2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
Red 1989 BMW 325is

Post subject: Re: How do I turbo?
PostPosted: August 17, 2014, 10:31 pm 

Blow off valves and waste gates do two different things. ..
A waste gate sets the upper limit for boost while under throttle, it allows exhaust to bypass the exhaust turbine when the intake manifold pressure is at the desired limit.
A blow off valve is used when the intake turbine is ahead of the throttle plate, it functions to (hopefully) eliminate a reverse pressure wave resulting from the throttle plate closing (like when you lift to shift) that would cause the turbine to slow down and induce "turbo lag".
Two different relief valves, two different functions. ..

PostPosted: August 18, 2014, 9:54 am