LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 18, 2024, 10:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: January 4, 2006, 8:15 am 
I have considered several power trains for my Locost project and I have not yet made up my mind. The selection process seems to be a mix of logical and emotional arguments with oneself and in the process of arguing with me and others I have looked at the VW Beetle (air cooled), a Ford 260, 289 or 302 V8 and now I am investigating the flat 6 Corvair. And I like what I read!

What I like about the Corvair is this:
1- flat six= lower center of gravity for the locost
2-Air cooled engine is lighter. 300lbs for a six cylinder ain't bad
3-can produce 140 HP @4400rpm stock, 150HP @ 5000rpm (stock), 150 to 200HP with a turbo (still stock). In performance aftermarket ...the sky is the limit
4-the "sky" is actually the main positive argument for these engines. As a former commercial pilot myself I like the predictability of a big bore air cooled mill. The Corvair engine has a large audience among general aviation pilots and this drives its market today.
5-The engine (and the GM cars) still enjoy an extensive and well organized fan network in the World and in particular in North America...so the Corvair engine may not be as exotic for us as it may look.

What some of you may have against the Corvair engine:

1-the width of the Locost may have to be enlarged considerably to be able to lodge this engine in the little car ( lateral access to the heads for maintenance will make this point even more problematic)

2- Because the Corvair is a rear driving powerplant, the engine will have to be mated to a non stock transmission. This can be done . One can even get the Corvair to fire in the opposite direction if needed.

Now..Your turn.......

Post subject:
PostPosted: January 4, 2006, 8:44 am 
you could always use to corvair engine in a middy design.

Post subject: