LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently September 23, 2018, 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: July 17, 2015, 2:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 13, 2011, 9:19 am
Posts: 1279
Location: Denver Co
So there is an option in the gauge cluster to set the RMP signal input. I choose #2 for my 4cyl b16 engine. is that right? My gauge is bouncing and is reading different than my ecu. thoughts?


Attachments:
2015-07-11 23.03.36.png
2015-07-11 23.03.36.png [ 1.02 MiB | Viewed 1278 times ]

_________________
My build: http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtop ... 18&t=13096


You can build the most awesome thing in the world but at some point, an 80yr old man in a crx is probably going kick your butt on the track... don't ask me how I know.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: July 18, 2015, 8:19 am 
Offline

Joined: October 29, 2013, 5:15 pm
Posts: 176
Unless the gauge rpm is consistently the same multiple of what the ECU is telling you, it probably isn't the programming. The bouncing part sounds to me like you've got a noise issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: July 18, 2015, 9:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 13, 2011, 9:19 am
Posts: 1279
Location: Denver Co
I was thinking the same thing. I will try some shielded wire.

_________________
My build: http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtop ... 18&t=13096


You can build the most awesome thing in the world but at some point, an 80yr old man in a crx is probably going kick your butt on the track... don't ask me how I know.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: July 18, 2015, 11:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 6, 2009, 11:50 pm
Posts: 159
I have mine set on 2 for my h22 and it is smooth, solid, and reads what I would expect. I am using a shortened honda harness though, so it maintains the factory shielding.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: March 27, 2016, 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 6, 2009, 11:50 pm
Posts: 159
Not sure if you're still having a jumpy tach but mine turned out to be jumpy as well with the new wire routing I ended up doing. Apparently the KOSO gauges are pretty notorious for being sensitive to noise. I added this filter and it smoothed it out perfectly.

Attachment:
TachFilterV6.gif
TachFilterV6.gif [ 4.12 KiB | Viewed 1051 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: March 27, 2016, 12:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 13, 2011, 9:19 am
Posts: 1279
Location: Denver Co
Yeah I fixed it buy running it directly off the ecu rpm instead of the tach output off the dizzy

_________________
My build: http://www.locostusa.com/forums/viewtop ... 18&t=13096


You can build the most awesome thing in the world but at some point, an 80yr old man in a crx is probably going kick your butt on the track... don't ask me how I know.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
POWERED_BY