LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 19, 2024, 3:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: November 13, 2012, 3:20 am 

Hey guys, as I'm sure you guessed by the title I'm new to this whole building thing. While my questions are pertaining specifically to me, I am hoping all comments and information here will be helpful to anyone else with the same worries as me.

I am 20 years old, and just started building a Haynes car. I already bought and tore apart a 1990 Miata, so I have my wiring harness and most of my running gear (diff was missing :BH: ). Anyway, I made the first cuts and tack welds before I started really reading this forum. I'm sure this is a stupid thought, but I'm worried my car is going to be too...well...generic. Miata drive trains are common, Haynes Roadsters are common. I have a lot of unique ideas but I don't know how they will work out, so I'm worried my car will be unimpressive.

Has anyone else run into this?

Oh, and by the way, yes I do have experience cutting and welding, and working on pretty much all sections of the car from working in a vintage race car shop for a while.

I've found a ton of information here, and you all seem like nice people, so I'm hoping you can help!

Many thanks,

Eric

"Stuckness shouldn't be avoided. It's the psychic predecessor of all real understanding." --Robert Pirsig

Grey 2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
Red 1989 BMW 325is

PostPosted: November 13, 2012, 8:10 am 
The voice of reason

Welcome! You're going to do great and don't worry about the car being interesting. They are so unusual I don't see that as a problem. DO a good job and pay attention to details and you will do fine.

PostPosted: November 13, 2012, 11:02 am 
We are Slotus!

Quote:
Miata drive trains are common, Haynes Roadsters are common. I have a lot of unique ideas but I don't know how they will work out, so I'm worried my car will be unimpressive.

Hey Young'un!