LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently April 28, 2024, 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Bigger Chassis
PostPosted: May 2, 2012, 11:21 am 

I am new to the world of building cars and I came across this site that has me really thinking that I could really accomplish this. I have been looking at pictures of the Locost cars that are being built and see that most of them are a tight fitting ride, I know most race cars have to be.

What if I were to take the +442E frame and take all the dimensions and increase the size by say 5-10% so that even more engines could be used and the cockpit would be a bit larger for more comfort. From reading all the build logs I would say that most things have to be fabricated to fit the desired setup of the engine, drive train, and the driver or passengers. To me I think this would really work.

Please give me some ideas if this would work. I really like the ability in having a modular V8 from a Lincoln Mark VIII. Thanks and go easy on me its my first post.

Post subject: Re: Bigger Chassis
PostPosted: May 2, 2012, 12:18 pm 

Welcome to Locost USA!

Easy huh? Hope you have your Nomex undies on! Just kidding!

You can do just about anything you want to. Every build is as individual as it's builder. In my build, I'm taking a FWD VW lump and making it RWD!

The one thing to consider is that most of the designs here are based on tried and true, well tested plans (i.e. Aussie Mods). If you start adding length here... moving there... you may end up at the limits of the structure as considered normal. Larger tubing and more bracing would be a minimum consideration.

I'm 6' 2" with broad shoulders and my brother and I (same basic builds) were able to sit in my original frame (+442) and were very comfortable. It was actually surprising considering that in my 84 VW Jetta, we always rubbed shoulders!