LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently February 1, 2023, 2:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: July 4, 2009, 9:17 am 

I first stumbled across this site while originally looking for AC cobra replica build logs and was instantly hooked. I remember seeing lots of these on the road a few years back ( I lived in the UK for most of my life ) but i was so determined to do the cobra that i never really paid much attention to them. After looking through what goes into getting one of these 7 replica's completed, there was no doubt i wanted a go myself. I'm thinking of going +442E with a ford 5.0. I wanted to go with the 4.6 modular but it was way to big and the frame would have looked ridiculous. Rear will be IRS. I have no fabrication experience whatsoever, so this will be a monumental challenge for me. So, i have the space of a double garage, i have plenty of hand tools from being a mechanic for many years, but i need a lot more.

Ordered my welder 2 day's ago, A Hobart Handler 140 MIG. No gas yet, i need to get a bottle sorted out. There are a couple of Steel yards in Savannah near where i live, so framework shouldn't be too much of an issue. I know i'll need plenty of G clamps and magnets, gloves, steel cleaner etc, but what do you experienced guys wish you had with yours, or did have and never regretted it? I need a saw for the steel, but wasn't sure what to buy. I read a couple of posts with people using regular compound mitre saws with metal cutting blades. Is this recommended? I thought i would need a dedicated metal chop saw, or a bandsaw? Any other special tools? What about the suspension wishbones, is MIG ok, or should i get them done with a TIG?