LocostUSA.com

Learning how to build Lotus Seven replicas...together!
It is currently March 28, 2024, 4:14 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: July 25, 2019, 7:36 pm 

So I have a lot of experience with Locosts with traditional drivelines, and I rode dirt bikes as a kid. I have a few questions about using chains and belts in BEC applications:

-How much maintenance is needed?
-How long do they last?
-Are they loud?
-Are they failure prone?
-How come belts aren't more popular?

Thanks!

PostPosted: July 26, 2019, 5:40 pm 
Automotive Encyclopedia

kreb wrote:
Regular adjustment and lubrication or spray wax for o ring types (which cost more).

-How long do they last?

half as long with twice the weight (Bike vs car)No comparison to a diff

-Are they loud?

Louder than a diff.

-Are they failure prone?

More so than traditional driveline. There are considerations such as chain speed and ratio range is less than what can be done with a diff

Belt systems are much more expensive and are bulkier. You can't add links to a belt if you need to with a gear change but they are less noisy and don't "stretch" like chain. The stretch is wear of the pins that is not even so you have looser sections of chain as it wears

LxWxHt
360LA 442E: 134.5x46x15
Lotus7:115x39x7.25
Tiger Avon:114x40x13.3-12.6
Champion/Book:114x42x11
Gibbs/Haynes:122x42x14
VoDou:113x44x14
McSorley 442:122x46x14
Collins 241:127x46x12

PostPosted: July 26, 2019, 7:32 pm 

All I know is that the few times I've been to the track, one of the BEC's seemed to loose a chain during one of the heats. Beyond that:

“Any suspension will work if you don’t let it.” - Colin Chapman

Visit my ongoing MGB Rustoration log: over HERE

Or my Wankel powered Locost log : over HERE

And don't forget my Cushman Truckster resto Locostusa.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=17766

PostPosted: July 26, 2019, 7:39 pm